Souping up Grover

You may have heard that I lost my Super Grover doll. And that I’m devastated. But not enough to pay $80 for a replacement on eBay. So instead I decided to outfit the Grover I have left in Super Grover gear. And that includes his superhero disguise as mild-mannered Grover Kent.

Which means I need to make this guy (which I acquired in a crazy Macy’s holiday fiasco which I’ll tell you about at another time):

look like this:

and be able to quickly change into this:

which I’m sure you’ve gathered is not going to be easy. The biggest problem I thought was going to be making the fedora until a couple of days ago when I came upon this little number in a store for dapper babies.

I know! Right?

This is happening, people. Oh. Yes. It. Is.

5 thoughts on “Souping up Grover

  1. Jenny says:

    I have that very same Grover from Macy’s, though mine is not nearly as dapper and only appears at Christmas time. My question for you is– how exactly does someone go about losing a Super Grover?! I can’t for the life of me figure out how you’d go about that.

  2. Tracey says:

    I suspect Super Grover may have accidentally been given away during one of our get-rid-of-the-damn-toys-that-are-cluttering-up-the-house jags. Darryl blames himself because we both know there is no way I would have put Super Grover in a Salvation Army bin. I am still hoping that he turns up at some point, though I don’t have high hopes. It is very, very sad. However, I will move on by pressing Macy’s Grover into service. I’m sure he’ll be excellent.

  3. Heather says:

    You are very fun and cool. It is why we are friends. I’m so sorry about Super Grover…does our friend at Sesame Street seriously have NO connection to get you another? Karen, can you NOT help a lady in need?

  4. Tracey says:

    Actually, Karen was the one who directed me to the Super Grover replacement on ebay. I was hoping she could wield some special Muppet magic, but alas, she was fresh out.

Comments are closed.