Google+ … something else to ignore

I’m no social media maven. I like the remote connection. I like the ease of sharing information and fun stuff. I like that I get introduced to new people and things, but I also like living in the real world and reading actual books with pages and running around outdoors. And that means that social media isn’t something I spend a huge amount of time on. But it has become a necessity for staying connected with ease.

I was dragged onto Facebook kicking and screaming because of a reunion with my Trinidadian schoolmates, and then I’ve stayed on because I found family and other friends and now have an author page where I connect with other writers and fans. And I love that. I’m on Twitter because my husband dragged me there kicking and screaming, and I stayed on because I met even more writers and agents and there are so many great articles and blog posts shared, that I know I’d miss out on a lot if I wasn’t on there. Then there are the chats. I love the chats. The chats are filled with smart, informative people. It’s like a cocktail party where I can skip the lipstick.

I’m also on Goodreads when I remember that I actually have a Goodreads account, and I’m on Ravelry for all my knitting needs.

But I also find social media wearisome. It pulls at me when I want to do other things. I feel like I have to feed it. To get the benefit of it, you have to participate, and there are times I don’t want to. There are times I want to sit on the grass with a book, but I know that if I’m not posting, I won’t move up the social media ladder… you know… it’s all about the follows on Twitter, or the Likes on Facebook. And mostly I don’t care about that. But then if I don’t, then why bother to be on there? It’s something of a Catch-22, albeit a pretty mild, electronically self-absorbed one.

And now there’s Google+.

For a week now, I’ve been working every angle to get an invite. And then yesterday, literally 10 minutes after I was bitching and moaning to a friend of mine how none of my queries had panned out, I got 3 invitations in a row. THREE in the space of about 15 minutes. It was kind of hysterical. And now that I’m on there, fumbling around, trying to figure it out quickly and establish my presence, I realize that this is yet another thing that’s going to be pulling my time, taking away precious minutes from my other non-e life. And I wonder, now that I’m in, do I even want to be in at all?

8 thoughts on “Google+ … something else to ignore

  1. Tracey says:

    I’m definitely going to explore it for a while. It’s far more flexible than Facebook and has more capability than twitter and it’s possible there’s a lot of room for storytelling capability. Shall I add you to my circles?

  2. Natasha C says:

    This morning I was asking a friend “how she keeps up” bc she has every possible social media hookup (or at least all I’ve heard abt + more). And she said to me (via FB of course) “because I like this stuff and it’s part of my passion, I like to keep up with it. I’m a techie. I think for most people, they see keeping up with various social media tools as a hassle and just ONE more thing to update so they don’t bother”. Yuh think?!?!
    I think it’s a bother, I can barely keep up w FB, I deleted my blog, and refuses invitations to everything else. I agree that on the rare occasion I do feel left out. But most times I like my anonymity. Some I even start commenting on someone’s post and then delete it half way through. I will never ascend higher than the bottom rungs. C’est la vie.

  3. Tracey says:

    I have been seriously considering leaving Facebook, and if Google+ turns out to be an easier platform for me, then I definitely will. I do turn down invites to other social networks. I mean, enough is enough.

Comments are closed.