The Mashup

Happy Monday, everyone, it’s publishing news time!

As if the publishing world wasn’t already tough for authors, new books now have to get traction even faster. Indigo Books and Music in Canada is changing its returns policy to re-evaluate a book’s sales after 45 days. Which means, that if your book isn’t selling well in that time, it may be returned. Oh the dreaded pulping. Ouch.

Have an iPad? Want to make it into your primary writing device? Well, Novel Publicity has some tips for you. I’m still waiting for an app that allows me to use Microsoft Word. Even drool-worthy tablets like the Motorola Xoom don’t have Word which is one reason I’m still sticking with my laptop. Because so far, none of those word processing apps have all of the capabilities of a good word processing program. App fail!

Are you on Google+ yet? You can find me here. And if you have a gmail account you no longer need an invite, so why not come on over and start making circles. Don’t know what those are? Overwhelmed yet? (I was) but Robert lee Brewer has some tips for you Google+ing writers.

If you doubt the power of the almighty social media to help market your book, you only need to look at the success of one particular writer, who has used his twitter followers to propel his unfinished book to #1 on Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Of course he managed to get all of those followers from his remarkable debut novel, but still, that’s pretty impressive.

Agent Rachelle Gardner broaches the subject of why you’re getting all those rejection letters. It’s mostly about volume.

Natalie Whipple discusses why the internet is scaring the heck out of her lately: it’s all about how much honesty she can muster and the repercussions. I discussed similar in a blog post about truth in book reviews and I agree. People can react unpleasantly, and I don’t want any part of it.

One of my favorite Twitter-folk, Lauren Baratz-Logsted, discusses the right way to get blurbs for your book, over at Nathan Bransford’s blog. One tip: mind your manners. You wouldn’t believe how many times people forget that one.

And just how do you create cover art for your book? They talked about it over at Warrior Writers. If you’re doing some jacket art design on your own, please give me a heads up and I’ll link to it here. I love seeing what people do with their covers.

Finally, if you’re new to the world of picture books, Twitter’s Literaticat has an  excellent list of things you really need to know.

2 thoughts on “The Mashup

  1. Karen says:

    I’m a few days late in reading this, but I wanted to comment on the John Green story about his unfinished book hitting #1. I am one of those that pre-ordered it, and his story is one that is VERY MUCH about social media, but also about using it in very authentic ways. I got to know him first through videos he made between him and his brother, and the videos have this quirky-dorky-affectionate-ness to them that draws you in. You’re stepping inside a sibling relationship between two people who are very different but clearly care about each other, which is what I think makes them so popular.

    Anyway, I have a few of his books if you want to borrow — it’s YA stuff, but it is more on the literary side than the Sparkle Vampire side.

Comments are closed.