Yarn control

I tackled organizing my yarn stash this weekend because it was getting a little out of control. While it’s not the biggest stash of yarn in the world, it still needs a little attention now and then.

Here’s what it looks like all neatly bagged by fiber type, and safely tucked into it’s container. I wish I had taken a before picture.

And here’s what it looks like laid out. It’s pretty small, now that I see it that way.

My prized possession in this stash is my recycled silk yarn. When I bought it originally, I got a lot of the blue color because I wanted to knit the Unbiased bag for my mom. (It came out great, btw.) But my LYS* had two hanks of this pink shade that wasn’t enough really to make anything out of, but I just couldn’t leave it there! So I have it, and I have no idea what to do with it. Any ideas?

I have way too much lime green Lion Brand Cotton Ease. I bought it for a couple of projects, including the leaf cami and a hat/scarf set for my  brother. I also have too much of that coral pink Classic Elite Premiere. I already made a dress out of that Classic Elite and I could probably easily make a 2nd one. why did I buy all of that? Oh, that’s right, it was on sale. Now what do I do with those? Sheesh. Let me know if you want to trade.

I also have a bunch of UFOs** that need their ends woven in. Some of those poor things have been sitting in the yarn box for over a year. I just really, really hate weaving in ends.

Then there’s the  knitted doll I started making for my niece last Christmas, and all I have to show for that Big Idea is one and a half doll feet.

But that’s not the worst of it. I started making a hat for my son before he was born, and it didn’t come out right, so I put it away intending to go back to it at some point. And here it is, still half-knitted. And my son just turned five.

So that’s my stash, folks. I decided to keep everything in baggies to keep them safe from dust and bugs, and also because I have small children who  like to unravel things. Since it’s a small stash, it’s easy to keep in the little box, high up on top of my filing cabinet where they’d have to climb to get to it. Not that they couldn’t, but it’s a deterrent. Plus it’s in my office and they tend not to hang out in there unless I’m there as well.

What’s in your stash?

*LYS = local yarn store; **UFOs = un-finished objects

2 thoughts on “Yarn control

Comments are closed.