2012 bucket list

Since the world is supposed to end an all…

1) Read 50 books

Last year’s goal was to read 100 books. I fell just a little short of that at about 30-something. Oops! Hopefully I’ll get to 50 despite all the running around and screaming about the apocaplypse.

2) Get 50 new clients for my writing and editing business, Fairy Godauthor

Hmm… 50 seems to be a theme this year. But if you need a writer or editor, I’m your woman.

3) Get 2 new book contracts

I don’t actually have much control over this one, but I’m going to try like hell.

4) Make $____ from freelance work

You don’t think I’m going to announce my income, do you? But I do have a very specific financial goal this year. I didn’t last year, and where’d that get me? Um, not to the bank, I can tell you that!

5) Play more

Maybe this seems counter-productive. It isn’t. I’m very hard on myself, and I don’t give myself a chance to just enjoy life. This year, I’m putting it as part of my goals to make sure that I do. And if at the end of the year (assuming those crazy Mayans were only kidding) this is the only goal I’ve accomplished, I’ll consider my year a total success.

What are your goals for 2012?

4 thoughts on “2012 bucket list

  1. Tonya Rice says:

    Hi Tracey! You’re a super motivator!!!

    I’m in the process of creating my timeline, but here are my 2012 writing plans:

    My 2012 writing plans:
    * I’ll be posting on my blog much more consistantly this year – at least one post per week.
    * I completed the first draft of my novel in October 2011 (Hallelujah!); I plan to complete at least two rewrites by May 2012 and have it published before the end of 2012.
    * Make time for NaNoWriMo this year
    * Write at least two articles per month for online news site.
    * Explore additional online marketing avenues, too.

    On Goodreads, I listed 15 books to read. I know I’ll read more, but it was something to put out there.

    Thanks much and Happy New Year!

  2. Tracey says:

    Congratulations on finishing the draft of your novel, Tonya. That’s huge. And your goals for editing and publication seem totally doable. I always cringe when people have their writing/editing/publication goals one month after the other. Yikes!

    And thanks for reminding me to list my reading goals on Goodreads! I’m terrible with that site.

    Happy new year to you and happy writing and editing!

Comments are closed.