The booklist (2012)

Last year I read a little over 30 books, reviewed 25, absolutely adored 3, hated 2, and nearly didn’t finish 1, but was ultimately glad I did.

How they stacked up:

The best books I read last year were Kathryn Erskine’s MOCKINGBIRD, Jewell Parker Rhodes’ NINTH WARD, and the kids and I fell in love with INTERRUPTING CHICKEN by David Ezra Stein. My son’s review of that book was the best review of the year.

Among the worst were self-published works that I agreed to review for blog tours, and then immediately regretted it, because I was locked into writing something “nice” about them. And this is why I am not participating in blog tours anymore where authors have paid a third party to set up their tours. However, if authors contact me directly asking for a review, and if they understand that I will give an honest one, then fine. (Don’t worry, even if I dislike something, I’m always gentle.)

I nearly didn’t finish Steig Larsson’s THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO, but I’m glad that friends who had slogged through the first 100+ pages advised me to stick with it. Man, the set-up on that book is slo-ow. The book was not my usual genre, but it was unexpected, and thrilling.

I finished off the year with my daughter’s THE ANT AND THE MAZE, a book she wrote on her own a couple of years ago and that my husband’s cousin illustrated as a gift for her. We put it up for sale to family and friends, much to the chagrin of the author, who begged (and is still begging) shyness. She’s talented though, more talented than I was at her age.

This year, I have a 50-book goal, and on the list are a few books I picked up but haven’t gotten a chance to read yet:

LIPS TOUCH by Laini Taylor

THE DREAMER by Pam Munoz Ryan

Some classics that I haven’t read:

S.E. Hinton’s THE OUTSIDERS

JE SUIS LE FROMAGE by Robert Cormier

And a few new books that have gotten rave reviews:

THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS by Rebecca Skloot

THE TIGER’S WIFE by Tea Obrecht

This is by no means my complete list. I’d venture to say I have more than 50 already on the list, so we’ll see how they come together. But the first book I read this year was by a friend of mine. Karyn Glubis’ THE TREASURE HUNT: TRINIDAD’S MAGNIFICENT SEVEN, a picture book about friends on an adventure to find 7 historic buildings in Trinidad’s capital city: Port of Spain. I’ll do a full review of that book next week.

So, what’s on your reading list this year?

2 thoughts on “The booklist (2012)

  1. allisbookbar says:

    I just finished a book called The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley, which I absolutely loved!! I will post the review on my blog later today. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is really great too. On my list for the next month or so is The Dirty Parts of the Bible (a fictional novel, not anything distasteful), Little Bee, and The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. Happy Reading!

  2. Tracey says:

    Thanks! I’ll have to check those out. And I’ll check out your review of The Sweetness later. I’m intrigued by The Dirty Parts of the Bible. It’s a great title, and I’ve never heard of the book.

Comments are closed.