Office space

When you make that commitment to write, one of the first pieces of advice you might get is: find a place to work in. So, long before I decided to become a freelance writer and editor, I had an office in the house. It’s where I wrote and edited Angel’s Grace, and where I sent out letters that got me my first agent. It was a quiet room at the back of the attic that overlooked the backyard and a dogwood tree that bloomed spectacularly every spring. Bookshelves lined the walls, and was filled with my stuff exactly the way I wanted it because nobody came into my office but me.

That was then.

Years later, that room is now our guest room, and my office has moved to the second floor next to my bedroom–and everyone else’s. It was once my closet. And because it’s so accessible, everyone’s in there, all the time, moving stuff around, and grabbing things like scrap paper (no, not the stuff I’ve already printed on and put in a pile that says “scrap paper,” the new stuff straight from the printer), or tape (I open up a new pack of tape every week), and pencils (don’t your kids need a new pencil every day?), or they need to store something someplace, and this is the closest space.

Sigh.

So I’ve tried, on occasion to get them out of my office by saying things like: I work in here! and get out! and this isn’t a play room!

But when your office looks like this, that last one is a hard point to make.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “Office space

  1. anitascribbles says:

    I love the KNITTING WITH PENCILS theme. It’s exactly what one does as a writer, and I’ve always found that if you walk away and leave a tangled skein of words, there’s always the chance that you’ll come upon it again someday and knit up something wonderful.

  2. Tracey says:

    You know Anita, this blog was originally called “inkling” and when I changed it, my husband totally didn’t get the name change. I’m so glad that other writers out there do! Thanks for stopping by, and thanks so much for commenting.

  3. Cathy says:

    The weaving of imagination into words and onto paper and finally, finally, into a reader’s hungry hands, is one of the true joys in this world ๐Ÿ˜‰

    My study in the treetops on the top floor of our home was born when my 3 kids finished high-school, and has been growing into a beautifully solitary sanctuary ever since. And yet … with the advent of my first grand-daughter, counting books and squeaky toys and all manner of well-loved stuffies are slowly creeping in …

  4. Tracey says:

    So what you’re saying is: even after my kids leave the house and get their stuff out of my office, I will have grandchildren who will bring theirs in. OK. Got it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Tracey says:

    Hi Daisy, thanks so much for writing. I’m very happy you liked Angel’s Grace! And I hope you do find many other great books to read.

Comments are closed.