Once upon…

What is it about fairy tales? They capture the imagination, keep us guessing, appeal to our sense of hope. I love fairy tales. I own the complete Grimm’s and Andersen, and occasionally fairy tales appear on my doorstep. Ever heard of a mini-series called The 10th Kingdom? I own it on DVD. Even my scientist crush, Albert Einstein once said, “If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” So in the fall when ABC announced they were doing a series called Once Upon a Time, you’d think I’d have programmed my DVR instantly. I didn’t.

I’ve gotten a little sick and tired of shows where ethnic characters are by-standers, or non-existent, and by all evidence, this was going to be the same. Granted, fairy tales of the European variety don’t have ethnic characters because that’s a fact of geography. And for whatever reason, fairy tales from other cultures never seem to make the cut. (I am, right now, working to bring some more color to the fairy tale scene.) But I could only resist for so long, especially since friends of mine kept talking about how great the show is.

So on Sunday, I went to ABC’s site and I watched the pilot.

And then I watched the first episode.

And then I went on a few different websites trying to figure out where the  costumer for Mary Margaret/Snow White got that white lace shirt she was wearing.

(Did I mention that Snow White is my favorite fairy tale?)

And then I read some fan comments on blogs.

And then I decided to pace myself.

So I didn’t watch another episode until last night.

And now I’m trying to figure out how long I should wait  to watch another episode.

Which means I’ve fallen for a show I said I wasn’t going to watch, and probably shouldn’t because my main reason still applies.

But I love all things fairy tale, because in fairy tales we get the riddle: Why are grandmother’s eyes so big? Will he find the true owner of the shoe? Who does that frog think he is?

Since the writers of Once are upholding the rules: Will the citizens of Storybrooke ever find their way back into the forest?

I’ll be watching to find out.

6 thoughts on “Once upon…

  1. Britton Minor says:

    Did you really need to tell me about this? Can’t I just go about happily living my fairy tale life with the illusion that I will one day “make” enough time to do and see everything compelling?

  2. Tracey says:

    Britton, believe me, I am kicking myself for opening that can of worms. Thank goodness for the internet. I can watch it while I do other things, like burn dinner…

    I want to believe that loving fairy tales makes us as smart as Einstein. (I don’t, but I want to.)

  3. Heather says:

    You know I likey! I’m caught up to all but 2 I think. I’ve been watching them every once in a while when I have time! Go as fast or as slow as you wish! 🙂

Comments are closed.