Try defying gravity

In the last week, I saw both Wicked and Porgy and Bess on Broadway. A banner week by any standards since both shows are amazing, and feature incredible talent in singing particularly, but also in acting, and writing. Though there were a lot of high moments, the one that stuck with me the most was Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West, finding her natural power and singing “Defying Gravity.”

The parallel is impossible to miss. Find your wings. Make the leap. Dare to try. Dare to dream. Try to defy gravity. Can you do it? You have to believe. And only when you believe, it’s impossible to fall.

Enjoy the clip.

6 thoughts on “Try defying gravity

  1. Deborah Batterman says:

    Yes, let’s defy gravity. And while we’re at it, a funny ‘Wicked’ anecdote. I saw it several years ago with my husband and daughter. Only I neglected to realize that it was a 7:30 curtain on that particular night. So we missed the beginning, and the show is forever called ‘Icked’ around my household. 🙂

  2. Tracey says:

    @ Lourdes, you’re doing better than I am. I haven’t been trying every day! Any success yet? 🙂

    @ Deborah: “Icked.” Love it.

    @ Catherine, go see it. I had been avoiding it (stupidly) for years, and now I’m mad at myself that I didn’t see it sooner. I will be seeing it again soon because I have to take my daughter. I’ll look carefully at the time, so that she doesn’t call it “Icked” like Deborah’s family! 😉

Comments are closed.