When does inspiration come?

I hear a lot of young (and by young, I mean “new” not necessarily their age) say that they don’t get inspired to write. Well, there are a lot of good quotes about not waiting around for inspiration, but this is one that I haven’t shared before, from Dave Barry.

I write for a couple of hours every day, even if I only get a couple of sentences. I put in that time. You to that  every day, and inspiration will come along. I don’t allow myself not to keep trying. It’s not fun, but if you wait until you want to write, you’ll never do it.

There are lots of days when you don’t feel like you WANT to write. But that’s the job. You sit in the chair and you just do it. The inspiration will come, or it won’t, and that doesn’t matter, because you are doing what you need to be doing: writing. Come what may.

8 thoughts on “When does inspiration come?

  1. MCV EGAN says:

    Yes! It does…God helps those who help themselves. The Universe will provide if you act. Call it what you will but results take action.
    Well said Tracey!
    M.C.V. Egan

  2. Karen Berthine says:

    My mind goes to work most creatively when I’m cycling or washing my hair (not at the same time). For the first, I think it’s the fresh air and stillness; for the second, I think it’s all the blood being massaged in my scalp. 🙂

  3. Tracey says:

    That’s really interesting, Karen. I find myself getting inspired when I’m making dinner. Something about stirring the pot…
    How do you deal with getting ideas down when you have soapy fingers?

Comments are closed.