Querying: the two words you need to hear

Remember that book I wrote last weekend that just came to me from a dream? Well I’m sending it out today. I could have sent it out last week, but I was a little shocked that the book came to me so easily and was done in pretty much 48 hours. I was waiting for the catch. For the other shoe to drop. For realization of my own incompetence to hit me like a freight train. So I waited all week, and nothing happened.

So there’s really nothing left to do but send it out. Well, there’s fear. There’s always that to contend with. But what I’ve come to realize about writing and sending out work is this: who cares? If people don’t like it, it doesn’t really matter. It won’t kill me. My life, my marriage, my children, the relationships I have with my friends won’t fall apart because someone says “no.”

Then this morning, as I was looking for a blog topic, I came across the following quote by Fay Weldon.

“Show your work to no one, not to friend, nor spouse, nor anyone. The publisher or producer, eventually, will say yes or no, which are the only words you need to hear.”

And it’s precisely what I need to hear this morning to click “send.”

Stay tuned.

***

[Also, click over to http://www.fairygodauthor.com because this week only, we’re doing FREE manuscript critiques!]

 

12 thoughts on “Querying: the two words you need to hear

  1. Tracey says:

    There are times I need feedback as well, but I only trust about 3 people with my pre-published work. Writing groups don’t work for me.

  2. Tracey says:

    I think we all have a lot of self-doubt. I read somewhere it’s the mark of a true artist. Clicking that “send” button is still something we just have to push through. Meanwhile… I haven’t done it yet.

  3. Tracey says:

    Jayne, my mom uses the Harry Potter analogy all the time with me, so that made me smile. Becky, thanks for the yes vibes. I will let you guys know what happens.

Comments are closed.