Fastest. Book. Ever!

For the past couple of months I’ve been working on a project for Scholastic that has required me to read about 35 books a week. No, I’m not kidding. Most of them are MG and YA novels. So maybe it’s no shocker that I’ve had dozens of story ideas rolling around my head.

There was the one I sent out earlier this week, another that I’m holding off on until I hear back about story #1, and then last night, a third idea: this one, a Middle Grade novel, much more commercial than anything I’ve written. Writing brand new types of stories seem to be par for the course lately.

Thing is, next weekend I’ll be at the NJ SCBWI conference, and had intended to pitch a novel I’ve been working on since last year. But I think this new idea would make a better pitch; not because it’s better, it’s just more commercial. The thing is, I only hatched it last night, so it’s much too nebulous to pitch at this point unless I somehow manage to write a good chunk of it before next Friday night.

Can I write most of a novel in a week? Even if it is MG? With my crazy work schedule? And two small children to take care of? Am I insane?

Clearly. But I’m still going to try. And that’s why I need to stop writing this post this very

6 thoughts on “Fastest. Book. Ever!

  1. Rossandra White says:

    Wow, lady! You’re making me feel like a real slug. Just to make sure I understand: you’re reading for Scholastic, as well as have a couple of books in the works as well as planning on writing an entire novel in a week? Like I said . . . Oh, and found time to comment on my blog. You are the bomb!

  2. Tracey says:

    I didn’t mention the reading program I’m also working on, and the author manuscripts I’m editing. But, to clarify: I don’t normally work these kinds of hours, and I hope my hours will lighten a little soon. šŸ™‚ Thanks for commenting!

  3. Karen says:

    Either a drought or a flood right? Maybe you don’t need half the book so much as a really fleshed-out proposal!

  4. Tracey says:

    I was thinking the same thing. I was actually able to write a fair chunk, but I kept re-starting it because I had different ideas for the beginning. So I’m going to pitch my original idea, and hold off on this one for now. We’ll see how it goes.

Comments are closed.