Dear Story, I’m sorry

Dear Story,

I have sorely mistreated you. In my hands, you have not gotten the attention and love that you deserve. I’ve known the truth for quite some time, but I have been too unwilling and too lazy to put in the work. I am truly sorry. I owe you more, better, effort, time, and work. Instead of getting love, you have been taken for granted.

Now, finally, (how long have you been waiting in silence?) I am ready. I am listening. I will give you what you need, or at least I promise to try my best.

Please forgive me.

Sincerely Yours,

Tracey

7 thoughts on “Dear Story, I’m sorry

  1. Allegro non tanto says:

    Why is it that when summer rolls around and I have more time, my inspiration and motivation to write flies right out the open window? Please send some of your energy my way…

  2. Tracey says:

    Sometimes, you go to a conference, and things click. I have been sending this story out and the responses are the loveliest rejections you’ve ever seen, mostly ending in “please send me something else.” And I had the balls to be mad at them, when in fact, I have not put in everything that this story needs. So, it’s on me, not the story, not “them,” but me.

    Back to work.

  3. Becky Green Aaronson says:

    Oh, the writing process…it’s such a complicated, emotional thing. Thanks for sharing this little gem. You are inspiring me to get down to work again and show my book the love it deserves.

Comments are closed.