Write for 14 straight hours

According to Danielle Steel, “Anyone who tells you how to write best-sellers is a sham and a liar. I can tell you how I write books. I write them with fear, excitement, discipline, and a lot of hard work.”

In “Snoopy’s Guide to the Writing Life,” she also says of that hard work…

“I work and I think and I push and I scribble until something comes. When I actually get something to work on, I sit at my typewriter and type until I ache so badly I can’t get up. After twelve or fourteen hours, you feel as if your whole body is going to break in half. Everything hurts–your arms, your eyes, your shoulders, your neck, your hands. …”

TWELVE OR FOURTEEN HOURS? Does anybody out there work for that long straight in one day? I haven’t ever. I don’t think that I could! But since Steel is one of the best-selling novelists of our time, maybe this is the way to get the job done.

15 thoughts on “Write for 14 straight hours

  1. Elisabeth Kinsey says:

    Only on my master’s thesis, and I gained twelve pounds. I make a rule to write in three hour max stints or the pounds pack on. I don’t care about aches and pains. She looks pretty thin, to me.

  2. injaynesworld says:

    “I work and I think and I push and I scribble until something comes. When I actually get something to work on…” This is the part that resonates most with me. Ideas are always something I have to fight for. I’ve been known to do long stretches of writing, but only when I was writing on a deadline. Deadlines are really, really good for me. Left on my own, I meander.

  3. elizabeth says:

    Oh pleeezzzeee. I think she takes the same old idea and gives the main characters new names, different accents and changes the color of their hot and sweaty bedsheets and then sleeps at her computer for 12-14 hours!! And this is from someone who has never read one of her books! I just look at the covers and surmise.

  4. Tracey Baptiste says:

    Yeah, just reading what she wrote makes me want to take an aspirin. But finding unfettered time to write… that’s something I think we all would like to have.

  5. Cheryl Fassett says:

    There are not enough hours in the day for me to write that long, work my regular job, and sleep! Plus, if you have to put in that kind of hours to finish a book…I think it would lose a lot of the magic. If we are not having fun and are riddled with aches and pains, we won’t want to keep coming back!

  6. judiththomasberg says:

    She obviously doesn’t have kids, is all I have to say.
    All the power to her if she can do it, but it wouldn’t work for me, even if the kiddos were on a sleep over 😉
    I think you have to find what works for you, something that leaves you striving and keeps you from procrastinating.

  7. pixiebubbles says:

    I believe Steel has kids, but they are fully grown which makes a difference. I know I couldn’t type for 12 to 14 hours, too much to do. You still gotta have a life outside your writing.

  8. andy says:

    her books now a days are no where as good as her earlier books so if she’s writing 12 to 14 hours a day it sure doesn’t show in her writing style her writing is pretty average and plain as ever no use of fancy words or anything it seems she writes what she feels and doesn’t edit just submits her books to her publishing house and puts them for sale they already knew shes guaranteed gold in the bestsellers list her books always get crappy reviews for her newer books especially rogue and toxic bachelor those books were not good what so ever how she even finished them who knows her best books are now and forever the ring and remembrance it doesnt seem she cares anymore to put value into her work she just seems to write out of a duty then pleasure

Comments are closed.