This week in writing… headache edition

Who has aspirin?

This has been an emotional week for me. Lots of things going on. So let’s not focus on me. Let’s focus on poor, needy J.K. Rowling and how bad her adult book is. Review from The Telegraph and the New York Times. If she’s upset, she can weep into her piles of money, more of which she will get from this book and it’s 1 million pre-orders. A friend was kind and said that maybe she just needed to get that out of her system, in the way that female child performers often feel the need to go topless before they can settle into a grownup career. Let’s hope.

Earlier this week there was some discussion over the merits of Strunk & White (see the comments section). There’s the “they’re idiots who don’t follow their own rules” camp. And there’s the “they’re geniuses who flout their own rules in a masterful show of skill” camp. Who’s right? It might be easier to decide on the President. You’d better figure it out soon because one writer says that good grammar makes you smarter. Ooookaaay.

 

If you’re a children’s book illustrator, a) I adore you, and b) here are the guidelines for the Tomie dePaola Illustration award.

As if authors don’t have enough to worry about in regard to finding a readership, there’s now the fractured book-finding behavior of readers. Because there are so many ways to get access to books now, there are many, many more ways that authors have to consider to market to their customers. Lord. Remember when you could just write and then send the thing off in brown paper and twine? Yeah. Me either.

What could help books be discovered more easily? I know! Pop-up bookstores. Yes, seriously.

Oh, and know what else? Releasing books in two versions: for adults, and for kids, at the same time. (Actually, I kind of like that.)

One of the things fracturing bookbuyers are ereaders, and this week, B&N came out with new Nooks in HD, proving Amazon doesn’t corner the market on jack. This means, of course, there will be constant one-upmanship between the two booksellers, and anyone else out there with an ereader. But are they going to survive with the new tablets coming out…

You know, like the Surface machines! I’ve been waiting since the beginning of the summer when my beloved Zooey bit it. But in the meantime, HP has come out with the Envy x2, and I gotta tell you, I think I like it better. When do they all come out? Not fast enough for me.

I know I haven’t done “this week in writing” for a while, but I hear (mostly from Deborah Batterman) that you writer types like fast and dirty publishing news. So I’m going to try to keep it up. Cheers dudes!

10 thoughts on “This week in writing… headache edition

  1. Deborah Batterman says:

    I need an aspirin, too . . . Ha ha. Wherever/however you find these tidbits, I’m forever thankful. And re: rules of grammar/style — maybe they are meant to be broken, but only if you’re familiar with them in the first place. A hearty welcome back, Tracey.

  2. Hanna says:

    J.K. Rowling writing a book like that? Well, that’s one book I won’t waste my money for.
    As for talking about different ‘versions’ of books; for me, nothing can exchange real physical books :). I even print out my e-books before reading them hahah…

  3. judiththomasberg says:

    I read this, and felt like I should just keep my writing to myself. Puntuation has never been my strong point and it doesn’t make it easier that it’s done differently in English. That said I think I’ll just plow on writing and see if I can get it out there, because I’ve run into several books lately that wasn’t really that well written, two of them were written by ‘best selling authors’…… It might just be about luck 😉

  4. Tracey says:

    You are absolutely correct that you can’t worry too much about grammar and mechanics. Have you read Twilight? That’s a series that could have done with a proofreader. And yet, it’s made millions. Sometimes the story trumps the more mundane details.

Comments are closed.