NaNoPrepMo

As I desperately try to summon an idea for NaNoWriMo, I realize that October is not just for switching over your closet, dusting off your boots, getting dressed in outrageous costumes, and eating loads of candy. It’s also time to prep for NaNoWriMo, so for me at least, it’s NaNoPrepMo. I talked a big game about taking time off to outline at the beginning of the month, but I didn’t come up with anything. I was beginning to panic. Well, not panic exactly, but worry. You know, the kind of worry that makes you eat an entire bagful of “fun sized” Kit Kats. (Damn, those were good.)

But then this weekend I guess my brain had enough time to digest that I was in fact going to do NaNoWriMo whether or not I actually had a plan, and also that I did have a couple of burgeoning ideas that needed to come out in the light of day. So on Saturday, I actually started writing up some notes using Scrivener, my new writing buddy. Then if that was not enough, somewhere around 4am on Sunday morning, I guess my brain had a few more ideas, so I wound up back on my computer for another productive round of novel planning. (Just let me say this: I love that my brain works on things by itself while I’m busy doing other stuff, like dusting furniture. But also, I wish my brain would let me sleep. 4am is not cool, brain. Not cool at all.)

Now two days do not a pattern make, so I’m not going to make any predictions about my progress based on one weekend. But, I now have more ideas and direction than I had on Friday, so I’m pretty happy with myself. Whether or not this will translate into NaNoWriMo success, time will only tell.

It might help if I came up with a title.

What’s my story about? Well, it’s about space travel. I don’t have much more than that right now. It’s only been 2 days! Sheesh!

15 thoughts on “NaNoPrepMo

  1. akismet-32413b224e7bf3d13069184e51efa866 says:

    I’m so glad you wrote this. My palms get sweaty just thinking about doing NaNo, whatever. No ideas, not a one. Besides I’m such a slooooooowwwww writer, truly anal, That’s actually why I’m thinking of launching myself into this stratosphere for a month. Scrivener, eh? So that’s a program that will hand me an idea on a plate? If only, eh? I will check it out and If I come up with an idea, I will join you in NaNo whatever.

  2. Becky Green Aaronson says:

    Every year I get so excited about the IDEA of NaNo and then it arrives and…well…I will be cheering for you! So glad ideas are popping into your head–especially while you’re dusting. Gotta get ’em while you can. Good luck, Tracey!

  3. Tracey says:

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself for NaNo. I think that’s the trick. At least that’s my Big Plan this year. Scrivener will help you to organize those nebulous ideas, and as you do, perhaps you’ll see a shape begin to form. That’s what happened this weekend. Kind of like one of those puzzles where you only get to see one tile at a time until you figure it out. (Is that a thing, or did I just make that up?)

    Becky, I know what you mean about the IDEA of it. And it is a great idea. I think if you’re so inclined, you should just dive in and see what happens. Here’s my favorite thing about it: when it’s over, no one but you will know (or care) about your word count, or whether it’s a usable first draft.

  4. Tracey says:

    Karen, you don’t know the half of it. In between all that other stuff, I knitted myself a sweater last week. Albeit it had no sleeves and was backless, but still.

  5. judiththomasberg says:

    I’ll live precariously through you, because there is no way I’ll be able to do NaNOWriMo this year.
    I wish I could help you with the title. Do you need a title to begin?
    Crossing my fingers for you šŸ™‚

  6. Tracey says:

    Thanks Judith. I guess I don’t really need a title. I have just convinced myself that I’m more in control of the story when I have one.

Comments are closed.