Backless

Among the Regis women, my mother’s side of the family, there is a saying: “You’re not dressed up unless your back is out.” It’s a fashion tradition we younger (and not-so-younger) ladies of the family have readily adopted. Last summer when my 20 year old cousin visited from Canada on what can only be described as a shopping vacation, her prized buy was an ivory-colored backless silk cami that I very nearly stole. So when I came across this sweater on one of my favorite knitting sites, I knew I wanted to make it. But of course, being me, I didn’t want to follow a pattern. So instead, I made this:

 

back
front

Granted, it’s much more backless than you probably want in a sweater. The original shows just a sliver of skin, enough that you could wear it solo, whereas mine really requires a cami unless I’m being ultra-daring. (I’m not. Ever.) And as I was taking a picture of it this morning, it occurred to me that it might be the mullet of sweaters; business in the front, party in the back. And because that makes me laugh, I love it even more.

So there you have it. My backless sweater. Made from some Lion Brand Nature’s Choice Organic  Cotton yarn that I had left over from a baby blanket project.

5 thoughts on “Backless

  1. Tracey says:

    Thanks Uvi, though I did get inspired by the pattern I saw on Purl Bee.
    Deborah, have you checked out the patterns on Ravelry.com? I can’t go on that site without wanting to knit something.

Comments are closed.