The stages of NaNoPrepMo

So far, my method for getting ready for NaNoWriMo has been:

Stage 1: Hubris. (I’m absolutely going to come up with an idea this month AND organize it.)

Stage 2: Fear. (Why I got no ideas?)

Stage 3: Adrenaline. (I got an idea. Look! It’s so good! See how it squishes into Scrivener perfectly. If I keep waking up to work at 4 a.m. I will have an actual outline in days!)

That pumpkin is mocking me.

Stage 4: Hubris revisited. (Yeah I got this. I got it so much in fact, I don’t even have to outline anymore.)

Stage 5: Fear. (Oh crap. November is next week?)

I believe there will be a stage 6. A candy-eating stage. Good thing the night before NaNo is Halloween. I hope my children won’t mind if I eat their stash.

16 thoughts on “The stages of NaNoPrepMo

  1. Rossandra says:

    I haven’t left stage 2/5. I’ve read a ***load of quickie how-tos, but I need an idea, man. One frickin’ idea that doesn’t whimper off into the bushes when I approach. Tell me about Scrivener. When I looked at a writing program it made my eyeballs and brain hurt, waaay too complicated. Seems like it would take the month of November to make friends with it.

  2. Tracey says:

    Scrivener is a pretty neat tool, actually. I haven’t fully explored it yet, but basically it will help you to organize those bits of thoughts before they go off into the bushes. It has a “pin board” where an index card comes up with the basics of a section of the writing, and you can expand it to see the full piece, or chapter or whatever, or you can create a new one for a new piece of the book. That’s what I’ve learned so far, but there are lots of other features. Don’t try playing with it during NaNo though. You need that time to write.

  3. Karen says:

    First, this post makes me want candy corn very badly. Stupid candy corn.

    Secondly, this post makes me start to have a modicum of desire to actually participate in NaNoWriMo, if only to play with Scrivener, as it looks awesome.

    Third, this post makes me really excited for you and to hopefully read what you’ll be whipping out next month.

Comments are closed.