Last day plans

The end of the year makes us feel wistful for what we had, and hopeful for who we can become. No wonder end year lists are so popular. We want to look back and see the best of the past, get as far away from the worst as we can, and start planning for all the good stuff the universe owes us for getting through it all.

I haven’t worked out all of my personal goals for 2013. There will be something about not being so hard on myself, and something else about not getting caught up in other people’s nonsense. I would also like to be more kind, though that seems to come at odds with the other people’s nonsense bit, since to do that, my first thought is to tell people where they can stick it. So for now, I’m going to focus on the career goals.

Last year I wrote a treatise on what I would do every month of the year, and by March, it was clear that a lot of it wasn’t going to happen, because a good chunk of what I wrote was dependent on things happening that I had no control over. It was still a successful year, but this time I’m keeping the goals simple:

  1. Pick up 2013 publishing marketplace books
  2. Send New Year cards to my editing clients
  3. Finish edits for my novel and send to my agent
  4. Send two picture books to my agent (hope she loves them)
  5. Revise pricing structure and company focus for Fairy Godauthor
  6. Figure out how to schedule blog posts and tweets (!!!)
  7. Identify three non-fic subjects for middle grade chap books
  8. Do preliminary research and spec one of those stories
  9. Identify non-fic children’s publishers and query
  10. Review and begin revising sequel to GM
  11. Read at least 20 award-winning and acclaimed books

Happy New Year, everyone!

5 thoughts on “Last day plans

  1. Becky Green Aaronson says:

    You go, girl!

    I’m still sifting through my mental list of ideas for 2013. Right now I have one major goal for the year, and it has little to do with writing. Then again, maybe it has everything to do with writing.

    Happy New Year!

  2. Tracey says:

    When writing is a major factor in your life, I find that everything else in your life affects it. When I decided to have kids, I didn’t realize the impact it would have on my writing. I thought they were separate. They aren’t. Happy 2013 to you, and all the best with your one major goal!

  3. Hanna says:

    Don’t worry about ‘seemingly failed’ resolutions… which reminds me of a quote I just stole from another blogger’s post ( 😛 )
    “Don’t worry about failures, worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try.” ― Jack Canfield

Comments are closed.