The morning writer

Yesterday, my writer buddy Deborah Batterman posted a link to this New York Times article extolling the joys of writing first thing in the morning. I have heard praise heaped on early morning writing sessions since I was a wee little baby writer with dreams of bundling up my manuscript in brown paper like Ellis Bell.* And I have tried this early morning writing thing. Sometimes I make it one day. One cranky, back-achy, why-are-you-looking-at-me-like-that day. Sometimes I make it to two. (Two is monster-ugly, and not describable in polite company.) But these early morning sessions always start the same: with the vision of a fresh, clear mind parting through the muck of tired prose, straight as an arrow to the good stuff. You know, the crap that wins you awards.

fiveSo inspired by this lovely little piece, I got my behind out of bed at 5:30 this morning, showered, dressed for work, scarfed down some breakfast, and sat at the dining table with my manuscript, a pencil, and my razor-sharp mind to work until 7am when the kids needed to get up and I needed to get on the bus into the city.

Know where I got in my manuscript? Page 5. FIVE.

Five pages of thoughtful editing isn’t bad. But somehow I had expected more. Ten maybe. Especially since it’s now 7:30pm and I’m basically a zombie. All for a half hour less sleep. Clearly this girl needs her six hours minimum. And obviously, I’m not a morning writer.

[*Kudos to anyone who knows who Ellis Bell is without looking it up on the Interwebs.]

5 thoughts on “The morning writer

  1. timkeen40 says:

    The fact that you could even get out of bed and get that much going before work is amazing to me. My dream of getting up early usually dies with the first annoying beep of the alarm clock. Even if I somehow manage to get out of bed and make it my computer, the things that I have to do at work, the things that haunt me always, keep the creative thoughts of writing out of my mind.

    So please, don’t feel like a failure. Pat yourself on the back for even making it. Of this, I am in awe.

    Tim

  2. Tracey says:

    I am notoriously hard on myself, Tim. What would be more awesome is if I do it again tomorrow.
    Okay, Jenni, go look up Ellis Bell. 🙂

  3. Tracey says:

    Four? Impressive.
    I did manage to wake at 5:30 again this morning, but could not get my behind out of the bed until 6, so no writing today. (Well, maybe I’ll get to it later.)

Comments are closed.