Service

blessedI came across this meme on Facebook over the summer, and saved it to my desktop. Every now and then, I take a look at it. As you know, recently my family has dealt with breast cancer, layoffs, and (along with everyone else) a lagging economy. However, I have been feeling blessed and fortunate, and because numbers appeal to me, this meme really stuck.

On January 19th, President Obama has called for everyone to participate in a National Day of Service. I don’t care whether you like the president or not. Volunteering to help others is good. I am considering signing up to give blood and platelets at Memorial Sloan Kettering in NYC. Someone else’s blood and platelets made a huge difference in my life toward the end of chemo, and I’d like to give back. But I haven’t signed up yet because I absolutely hate needles (despite the many that I’ve endured since the diagnosis) and volunteering my arm is not easy for me to do. I’m sure I will do it, I just haven’t quite been able to click that button yet.

If you are interested in volunteering click here to find an opportunity near you.

6 thoughts on “Service

  1. Karen says:

    I haven’t donated blood in a while, so if you’re willing to come into the city and donate I’ll join you. We’ll make it a donating date. Then we’ll get some extravagant dessert afterwards.

  2. jennigreenmiller says:

    So glad you wrote this. I’m leading a volunteer tree planting project on the 19th here in Portland. Good day to give back to your community! I remember Obama’s acceptance speech, when he said that we are the keepers of our own legacy. Inspiring. I think volunteering in support of your community is part of that. good for you!

  3. Heather says:

    Love this idea! I’ll be in Texas w/ a group of women that day, wonder if I can find something there that we can all do.

  4. Tracey says:

    Karen, you know exactly how to get a girl to give up some blood: the promise of dessert! Let’s do it.

    Jenni, that sounds like a fun project. Wish it was warm enough here to plant anything. I see that there are some Habitat for Humanity events, but I have no love for the cold, so I’m not hanging around outdoors with a hammer in January.

    Heather, click the link, and put in your zip code, it will tell you what’s nearby that you can participate in.

  5. emily wheeler says:

    What a great idea! I’m not American so what Obama wants doesn’t really affect me, but I certainly see the value in volunteering in some way or other. I might see what’s possible in my part of the world. And I love that image you posted: I’ve seen it before, but it really resonates.

    Anyway, I’ve tagged you as the Next Big Thing! You can find more information here: http://emilystealeaves.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/the-next-big-thing/ Have a great week! 🙂

Comments are closed.