WWE (Writing While Exhausted)

429px-Initial_t_Paulus_Frank_1601For years, I’ve been telling people that they can make time to write. Even with the full-time job, and the full-time parenting, and everything else that they do, it’s possible. But I had been working from home, which is far less exhausting than commuting an hour into the city and back, dealing with energy-sucking co-workers, and then arriving home to help two children with homework, make dinner, and then summon up the energy to be creative. It turns out, I could do it, but writing while exhausted is good for nothing. It’s not good for me, and it’s certainly not good for my books.

So the first thing I’m going to do is apologize to anyone who may have felt awed, or floored, or cowed by my seeming ability to juggle 8 million things at once. Working an 8 hour day is quite different without the exhausting commute and succubi.

But I’m not giving up. I have a plan. And that plan is to make the most of my weekends. I have been spending my Saturdays running errands and driving the kids to their extra-curricular activities, but for the next couple of weekends, I’m making that my husband’s job. He will do the running around for groceries, etc. Or the kids just won’t go to their extra-curriculars. Sacrifices must be made, after all, and I am going to be ruthless in my need for TIME TO WORK. It’s the only way it’s going to happen.

 

4 thoughts on “WWE (Writing While Exhausted)

  1. Cheryl Fassett says:

    I have often found that if I don’t try to write while exhausted, I don’t try to write! It is the sad truth of the writer with a day job and a family. But if you love it enough, you somehow manage to squeeze it in here and there. Even 10-15 minutes of writing is better than none at all! 🙂

  2. Allegro non tanto says:

    I know exactly how you feel. With four kids, a husband, and forty weekly piano students, I’m exhausted practically all the time. I’m glad you have a plan–I certainly need to come up with my own plan soon! Good for you for making time to write on the weekends. Keep us posted on how it goes…

  3. Tracey says:

    I am just about to execute that plan, Rene. The idea is to plow through as much as possible this weekend. It’s a good weekend for it too, with all the snow.

Comments are closed.