The NaNoWriMo ’13 tee will be my undoing

pixels of suckitude

pixels of suckitude

One of my favorite motivational tools while doing NaNoWriMo is getting that year’s tee. In my last three NaNo years (2009, 2010, 2012), the only time I didn’t get the tee, I also didn’t win. (Sorry 2012! I just don’t know what happened there.) So you can bet that as soon as I decided to do NaNo again this year, I went straight to the online store to buy my t-shirt and guarantee my November 30th victory. I mean, the numbers speak for themselves. 100% success with tee. 0% without. But what I saw made me hit the refresh button a few times hoping it would change.

THIS is the NaNo ’13 t-shirt? Seriously?

novelist-eating blob monster? nowhere on the tee!

novelist-eating blob monster? nowhere on the tee!

I’m all for arcade games and retro geeky stuff, but this t-shirt doesn’t go far enough in its pixilated embrace. The pictures of the people modeling the tee are more interesting. Where is that novelist-eating blob from the picture? Is it on the back? (Please say it’s on the back.) Where is the starburst of phaser fire that shows novelists blowing up words? Maybe it would have been more interesting if the pixillated people were larger? Or the background was something other than basic black? PC-screen-of-death-blue?

Well, t-shirt be damned, I am participating in NaNo this year. I have a sequel to write, which should be motivation enough. But if it isn’t, if I get to November 30th even one word shy of 50k, I’m blaming this sucky t-shirt.

8 thoughts on “The NaNoWriMo ’13 tee will be my undoing

  1. Tracey says:

    Agreed, Lynn. Someone had to approve it. But it’s completely unimpressive and I am not buying it. I’ll donate though. I always give some kind of financial support.

  2. NewEngland_Muse says:

    I am not a fan of their logo at al. And I can’t believe I am doing NaNo yet another year. I kow better Tracey I do and it will be my downfall. But as you know I have caved. 🙂

Comments are closed.