Winning NaNoWriMo

2013-Winner-Vertical-BannerThis morning I got an email that declared that of the more than 300,000 people who signed up to do NaNoWriMo, I am one of only 41,940 people to finish over the 50k mark. This means that for every 7 people who participated this year, only 1 of them actually finished.

It’s a little bit crazy to set out intending to write an entire novel (or a good chunk of one) in 30 days, especially with all the regular distractions that make it hard to write anything at anytime on any day. But once it’s over, it’s great to just have the damn thing done already.

So it makes me wonder: if I do this twice a year, I could have two workable drafts to spend a few months working on, and I can switch them out so I’m not working on one at a time, and can give the ol’ brain enough in-between time to sort of forget one while I’m working on the other. An essential strategy for self-editing.

So I’m thinking about it. But for this week, I’m giving myself a little break. Real writers will say that I should not. But I deserve a break, thank you, and I will get back to the grueling early-morning writing sessions soon. After I do my I-won-NaNoWriMo happy dance.

One thought on “Winning NaNoWriMo

Comments are closed.