Happy New Year (with big publishing news and writing resolutions)

champagneHappy New Year! Did everyone survive the polar vortex? Good. Because I have some news.

This week I started as the new YA editor at Rosen Publishing. (Technically we do both MG and YA, but my title is YA Editor).

I’m very excited about this job for a few reasons:

1) I really needed to lower my job stress level.

2) I needed to be able to work from home (I only have to go in for big meetings).

3) I wanted to make the move to the world of book publishing.

There’s a fourth reason I think this is a good move for me. I will have no excuse for not keeping my one writing resolution for this year: write every day.

If you’ve been reading the blog, you know that in the fall I started waking at 5am to write before starting my regular routine of getting the kids up and out to school, and then starting my work-from-home day. I plan to keep that up this year, and I’m really excited to find out just how much writing I will have done by the end of 2014.

So here’s to 2014! May it bring us all the things we desire, and just enough trouble to give us stuff to write about.

What are your writing resolutions for this year?

[image from Morguefile.com]

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year (with big publishing news and writing resolutions)

  1. Tracey says:

    8am! I’m out the door by then 🙂
    Getting out at 5 is no easy task–especially in cold weather–but that’s the price of being a writer who actually writes every day before the kids and the job and everything else starts making demands on my time.

Comments are closed.