That’s one way to beat the summer slump

Most of my book-loving friends have a fantasy in common: they all wish they could get paid to read for pleasure. Reading for pleasure has never been a problem in my house, but my kids have been inclined to do a lot of watching tv since they’ve been home for the summer, so I decided to pay them to read AND to write. Here’s the deal. They get a dollar for every chapter book they read that they’ve never read before, and they get paid a dollar for every piece of writing they complete to my satisfaction. The plan is to get them to write  a couple of good essays, letters, arguments, critiques, and  proposals by September. I didn’t put any specifications on what they could read.

My son is reading ART2-D2 Guide to Folding and Doodling, and my daughter is reading an ARC of Kelly Barnhill's The Witch's Boy (coming out in Fall 2014)

My son is reading ART2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling, and my daughter is reading an ARC of Kelly Barnhill’s The Witch’s Boy (coming out in Fall 2014)

It’s cheaper than camp, keeps them occupied, and they like being able to make deposits in their bank accounts. Not to mention they get paid to do something they like (reading) and paid as compensation for something they don’t particularly like (nonfiction writing). And when they’re done working, I take them to the pool.

Nice work if you can get it.

6 thoughts on “That’s one way to beat the summer slump

Comments are closed.