HAPPY NEW YEAR!

It’s the first real workday of 2009, and though I’m not inclined to make resolutions, I do like to set out a few goals for the year. In 2008, I didn’t make my financial goal, but I did make all the others. Considering the state of the economy, especially in the latter part of the year, I’m not surprised that I didn’t make that goal. Often in freelancing there are things out of your control. I did secure at least one new book for 2009, and one of my editors mentioned there might be another down the line. It’s not enough, but I have a few more tricks up my sleeve, like the f1rst pages writer’s boot camp that I mentioned in the last post.

So, on to the 2009 goals:
1) No whining. Instead of complaining, I’m going to control what I can (my writing) instead of what I can’t (the publishing industry).

2) Generate more freelance. I plan on reaching out to each of my publishing contacts in the next couple of weeks to let them know I’m available to work.

3) Finish and send out new novel. F1rst pages will help significantly with this.

4) Draft a new picture book.

5) Write every weekday. This can be hard with my son at home, but even if it’s just a ½ hour, it must happen.

6) Draft that new novel that’s scaring the heck out of me. I have to stop letting fear prevent me from exploring new ideas.

7) Meet my financial goal. Yep. I have a specific dollar amount that I want to get to by December. I’m going to pull out all the stops to ensure that I get there. Economy shmeconomy.

I’m putting all my goals up on my bulletin board as a year-long reminder. And of course I’m also publishing it here for all the world to see. That’ll keep me on track. All I need is for one of you dudes to say, “Hey, whatever happened to number 4. I haven’t seen you do anything about that…” for me to cringe in shame. But it won’t come to that. In 2009 I’m in it to win it, baby.

Oh, if you’re judging my list, here’s a guy with some seriously ambitious goals. I’m not quite there yet, partner. Maybe when my little ones are both in school full time.

Happy New Year. You say you have goals too? Well, that’s what the comment section is for, honey!