I am good people

Someone reminded me of that this morning for my birthday. It’s not something I think of often. I am hard on myself. But today I gave myself a present. I walked away from something I should have a long time ago. There is corruption in the world, and bad people, and there are plenty of petty little minds. But I have to pick my battles. Cancer. That was a battle worth fighting. Petty people’s nonsense is not. (It has been 2 years since my diagnosis, btw. A coup!)

So many people wished me happy birthday today. People I love. People I like. People I’ve never even met in person, but have had great times with online. I didn’t need presents today (don’t tell my family that). The warmth from all of you has been tremendous. It’s really all I need. A new buddy I made at work took me out to a slightly fancy lunch. So sweet. My daughter took money out of her piggy bank to buy me a book that she knew I would like. It’s ART2-D2’s Guide to Folding and Doodling. She knew I would like it because I bought her all of the Origami Yoda books last year, and I have another book on doodling that I keep near my bed just for fun. Such an amazing present! I mean her. The book is too. But what a kid I have! My son offered to loan me his Lego R2-D2 as well. If you know my son, you know that is Big Generosity. It is love with a capital L.

Tonight, while it’s quiet in the house (the kids and my husband are at family night at school), I’m going to meditate. I haven’t done that in a long time. I pray a lot, but I can’t tell you the last time I’ve meditated. That’s going to be my next present to myself. Just time with myself and nothing else. I could easily watch t.v. or write or read a book, but I deserve a little time for me to be with me. After all, I am good people. And good people are good company no matter how many or few of them there are.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes guys. I love you all!

13 thoughts on “I am good people

Comments are closed.